Constance Backhouse wins 2009 Canadian Association of Law and Society Book Prize

Posted by irwinlaw on May 14, 2009 in authors and awards.

Irwin Law is very pleased to announce that Professor Constance Backhouse is the 2009 recipient of the Canadian Law and Society Book Prize for her book Carnal Crimes: Canadian Sexual Assault Law, 1900-1975. The book prize will be awarded at the CLSA annual banquet on Sunday, May 24, 2009 in Ottawa.

2009 Harvey T. Strosberg Essay Prize Winner Announced

Posted by irwinlaw on April 27, 2009 in awards and canadian class action review.

Harvey T. Strosberg, Q.C. and Irwin Law Inc. are very pleased to announce that this year’s winner of the Harvey T. Strosberg Essay Prize for the best student essay on class actions is Michael Rosenberg.

Mr. Rosenberg is a 2009 J.D. candidate at the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Law. Mr. Rosenberg’s paper, “Waiving Goodbye: The Rise and Imminent Fall of Waiver of Tort in Class Proceedings” will appear in Volume 6, Issue 1 of the Canadian Class Action Review. Mr. Rosenberg will also receive a prize of $10,000.

2009 Recipients of the OCLA Bursary Announced

Posted by irwinlaw on March 6, 2009 in awards.

Irwin Law is pleased to announce that Barb Alcock from the Huron County Law Association and Nina Nasedkin from the Sudbury District Law Association have been awarded the 2009 OCLA Conference Assistance Bursary. This bursary, which is co-sponsored by Irwin Law and the Ontario Courthouse Librarians' Association (OCLA), enables members of the OCLA to attend the Canadian Association of Law Libraries conference. Many OCLA members work in small libraries and do not have budgets that can cover the cost of any continuing education opportunities.

Hon. Justice Robert Sharpe Awarded Mundell Medal

Posted by irwinlaw on February 11, 2009 in authors and awards.

Mr. Justice Robert Sharpe, coauthor of The Charter of Rights and Freedoms in Irwin Law's Essentials of Canadian Law series has been awarded the David W. Mundell Medal for distinguished contribution to the law in legal writing.

The award is named after the late David W. Mundell, a leading constitutional lawyer and the first director of the Ministry of the Attorney General’s Constitutional Law Branch in 1976. It has been awarded since 1986.

The medal was presented to Justice Sharpe at the Ontario Bar Association Institute Luncheon on February 2, 2009.