2012 Harvey T. Strosberg Essay Prize Winner Announced

Posted by irwinlaw on July 24, 2012 in awards and canadian class action review.

Harvey T. Strosberg, Q.C. and Irwin Law Inc. are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2012 Harvey T. Strosberg Essay Prize for the best student essay on Class Actions in Canada is Anu Koshal.

Mr. Koshal is an honours JD student at the University of Toronto. This past summer he worked in the litigation and business law groups at McCarthy Tétrault in Toronto. The previous summer he prosecuted violations of the Provincial Offences Act for the City of Toronto. He will be returning to McCarthy Tétrault to complete his articles after graduating from law school.

Professor Kent Roach Awarded the David Walter Mundell Medal

Posted by irwinlaw on March 26, 2012 in authors and awards.

Irwin Law is pleased to announce that Professor Kent Roach has been awarded the the 2011 David Walter Mundell Medal. The Mundell Medal honours those who have made a distinguished contribution to law and letters. It celebrates great legal writing and recognizes that the artful use of language in the right style has the power to give life to ideas.

John Eaton named 2012 Marta Lange/CQ Press Award winner

Posted by irwinlaw on February 27, 2012 in authors and awards.

John Eaton, co-author of Irwin Law's Essential Sources of Canadian Law/Les références essentielles en droit canadien was recently awarded the 2012 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Law and Political Science Section (LPSS) Marta Lange/CQ Press Award which honours an academic or law librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science.

Ed Ratushny awarded Walter Owen Book Prize

Posted by irwinlaw on June 29, 2011 in authors and awards.

Professor Ed Ratushny has been awarded the 2011 Walter Owen Book Prize by the Foundation for Legal Research for his book The Conduct of Public Inquiries: Law, Policy and Practice. The Walter Owen Book Prize, is awarded by the Foundation for Legal Research, and "is designed to recognize excellent legal writing and to reward outstanding new contributions to Canadian legal literature that enhance the quality of legal research in this country.” The Prize alternates between French and English each year.