Kent Roach appointed to Order of Canada

Posted by irwinlaw on January 4, 2016 in authors and awards.

Irwin Law wishes to congratulate author Kent Roach for his appointment to the Order of Canada. The Order of Canada was established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Kent Roach has been named Member of the Order of Canada for “his steadfast defence of the rights of Canadians, both as a scholar and as a litigator.”

Kent Roach is the author and co-author of numerous books on criminal law and constitutional law, including:

Inaugural Holt Prize joint winners announced

Posted by irwinlaw on December 15, 2015 in awards and federation press.

On November 25, 2015, Australian legal publisher Federation Press hosted its inaugural Holt Prize. Named after Chris Holt, the late co-founder of Federation Press, the Holt Prize is a biennial award of $12,000 and a publishing contract for a first-time author who is an Australian resident. This year, joint winners Giovanni Di Lieto and Scott Stephenson were each awarded with $6,000 and a publishing contract. Finalists James Watson and Yee-Fui Ng were also awarded publishing contracts. Congratulations!

Read Dr A J Brown's, professor of public policy & law at Griffity University, reflections on the Holt Prize here.

Submissions guidelines for the Holt Prize can be found here. Details for the next Holt Prize will be posted in late 2017.

Irwin Law is proud to represent The Federation Press in North America.

2015 Harvey T. Strosberg Essay Prize Winner Announced

Posted by irwinlaw on July 23, 2015 in awards and canadian class action review.

Harvey T. Strosberg, Q.C. and Irwin Law Inc. are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2015 Harvey T. Strosberg Essay Prize for the best student essay on class actions in Canada is Lauren Pearce.

Lauren Pearce is a recent graduate of the Faculty of Law, University of Toronto. While at law school, she worked in refugee and immigration law at Downtown Legal Services, a legal aid clinic. She is currently an articling student at Paliare Roland, working in the area of litigation.

Her prize-winning paper, “Catch and Release: Class Actions and Solvent Third Parties under the CCAA,” will appear in Volume 11, Issue 2 of the Canadian Class Action Review. She will also receive a prize of $10,000.