David Paciocco Awarded Mundell Medal

Posted by irwinlaw on March 25, 2003 in authors and awards.

Professor David M. Paciocco, author of The Law of Evidence (third edition, 2003) Getting Away with Murder (1999), and Jury Selection in Criminal Trials (1997) is the recipient of the 2002 David W. Mundell medal. The Mundell medal was presented to Professor Paciocco at the opening lunch of the annual Ontario Bar Association Winter Institute on March 20, 2003. The medal was presented by Norm Sterling, Attorney General of Ontario.

Irwin Law Receives CALL/ACBD Award for Excellence in Legal Publishing

Posted by irwinlaw on May 28, 2002 in awards.

Victoria -- Irwin Law received the CALL/ACBD Award for Excellence in Legal Publishing at the Awards Luncheon at the annual CALL/ACBD conference. This award is created to recognize and promote excellence in Canadian legal publishing. Law librarians are eminently qualified as a result of their professional training, experience, and responsibility, to assess the quality of Canadian legal publications in terms of innovation in publication, originality, ease of use, quality of expression, accuracy of content, and value to legal literature as a whole.

Irwin Law Book Short-listed for the Donner Prize

Posted by irwinlaw on April 11, 2002 in awards and irwin law books.

Toronto, April 9, 2002 -- Allan Gotlieb, Chairman of the Canadian Donner Foundation, has announced that The Supreme Court on Trial: Judicial Activism or Democratic Dialogue, by Kent Roach is one of seven books short-listed for the 2002 Donner Prize, the award for the best book on Canadian public policy. This is the second time an Irwin Law title has been shortlisted for this prestigious award. In 2000, David Paciocco's Getting Away with Murder was the runner up for the Donner Prize.

Irwin Law Authors Awarded Law Society Medal

Posted by irwinlaw on March 28, 2002 in authors and awards.

Toronto -- The Law Society of Upper Canada has announced that Professors Julien Payne and John McCamus are among this year's recipients of the Law Society Medal. Professor Payne is co-author of Canadian Family Law in a Nutshell, published last year by Irwin Law. Professor McCamus is the author of Contract Law in the Essentials of Canadian Law Series, which will be published later this year. Among the other medal recipients is Hugh Lawford, Professor Emeritus of Law at Queen's University and C.E.O. of Quicklaw Inc. Irwin Law was acquired by Quicklaw in November of 1999.

Stephanie Perrin to Receive Privacy Award

Posted by irwinlaw on November 12, 2001 in authors and awards.

Stephanie Perrin, co-author of The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act: An Annotated Guide (Irwin Law, 2001) has been named the recipient of the Privacy Advocate Award for 2001. The Privacy Advocate Award is given annually by the British Columbia Freedom of Information and Privacy Association for outstanding contribution to the advancement of privacy rights in Canada. Ms. Perrin will receive the award on November 19, 2001 in Vancouver.