The Conduct of Public Inquiries

Posted by irwinlaw on March 23, 2010 in authors and irwin law books.

Ed Ratushny, author of The Conduct of Public Inquiries published by Irwin Law in October, appeared on the March 17th edition of TVO's The Agenda with Steve Paikin. Ratushny appleared along with Ontario Associate Chief Justice Dennis O'Connor, Justice Stephen Goudge of the Ontario Court of Appeal, Paul Cavalluzzo, lead commission counsel on the Walkerton and Arar inquiries, and Linda Rothstein, counsel for the inquiry into the province’s forensic pathology system.

Constance Backhouse wins 2009 Canadian Association of Law and Society Book Prize

Posted by irwinlaw on May 14, 2009 in authors and awards.

Irwin Law is very pleased to announce that Professor Constance Backhouse is the 2009 recipient of the Canadian Law and Society Book Prize for her book Carnal Crimes: Canadian Sexual Assault Law, 1900-1975. The book prize will be awarded at the CLSA annual banquet on Sunday, May 24, 2009 in Ottawa.

Patrick Monahan Appointed Vice-President Academic at York University

Posted by irwinlaw on March 4, 2009 in authors.

Patrick J. Monahan, author of the best-selling text, Constitutional Law in Irwin Law's Essentials of Canadian Law series,has been appointed Vice-President Academic and Provost of York University effective July 1, 2009. He is currently Dean of Osgoode Hall Law School at York.

For more information please click here.

Hon. Justice Robert Sharpe Awarded Mundell Medal

Posted by irwinlaw on February 11, 2009 in authors and awards.

Mr. Justice Robert Sharpe, coauthor of The Charter of Rights and Freedoms in Irwin Law's Essentials of Canadian Law series has been awarded the David W. Mundell Medal for distinguished contribution to the law in legal writing.

The award is named after the late David W. Mundell, a leading constitutional lawyer and the first director of the Ministry of the Attorney General’s Constitutional Law Branch in 1976. It has been awarded since 1986.

The medal was presented to Justice Sharpe at the Ontario Bar Association Institute Luncheon on February 2, 2009.